Welcome to the 8PreAlgebra page!

Week of Oct 23, 2017:
  • Mobile construction this week!

Links
Buzz Math - www.buzzmath.com
Khan Academy - www.khanacademy.org
Desmos Graphing Calculator - www.desmos.com
Buzz Math Class Code - 474D-88DE

Class Action Blog

Tuesday, Oct 17-Monday, Oct 23, 2017
Mobile making!

Monday, Oct 16, 2017
Mrs. Pomranky and Mrs. Manuel came in this morning to share examples of mobiles with the students, both physical examples and some from Calder.


Friday, Oct 13, 2017
U2 Exponent Properties Test
AFTER TEST: Solve Me Mobiles

Thursday, Oct 12, 2017
Review day, test tomorrow

Tuesday, Oct 10-Wednesday, Oct 11, 2017
Study Guide completion

Monday, Oct 9, 2017
No School

Friday, Oct 6, 2017
Students worked in small groups on p 99 #1-7, #13-14 and #16-20. Test on exponent properties will be on Friday, Oct 13.

Thursday, Oct 5, 2017
More practice with operations with scientific notation in small groups today.

Wednesday, Oct 4, 2017
Students shared what they learned about operations with scientific notation from their notes last night. Then we practiced Buzz Math "Performing Operations with Scientific Notation."


Tuesday, Oct 3, 2017
Students completed a check in today on writing numbers in scientific notation on p 91 #1-28 and #34 on LL.

Monday, Oct 2, 2017
We reviewed how to write in scientific notation and completed some practice problems on Buzz as well in the book p 89.
Screen Shot 2017-10-02 at 9.02.38 AM.png

Friday, Sept 29, 2017
No School

Thurs, Sept 28, 2017
Scientific Notation Video + notes

Wednesday, Sept 27, 2017
We reviewed power of a power in small groups to get ready for our quiz. Students also completed p 81-82 #1-23 odds.

Tuesday, Sept 26, 2017
Practice today with exponent rules . . . we also added the power of a power property (Virtual Nerd video) with notes below. Students worked on p 78-80 in the book in small groups.
Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 10.53.01 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 10.52.55 AM.png

Monday, Sept 25, 2017
Students practiced p 75-77 in the book and then completed a check in on 8.EE.A.1 on Mastery Connect.

Friday, Sept 22, 2017
We added another concept about exponents today - negative exponents. Students took notes and then we worked in small groups on simplifying negative exponents.
Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 10.02.29 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 10.02.25 AM.png

Thursday, Sept 21, 2017
More practice today on simplifying exponent expressions with multiplication and division . . . we checked in on our HW and then practiced in small groups.
Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 12.46.48 PM.png

Wednesday, Sept 20, 2017
New unit this week on exponent properties . . . today we shared our notes from HW on the multiplication and division properties for exponents. We practiced with Kahoot.
Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 8.39.17 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 8.39.11 AM.png

Tuesday, Sept 19, 2017
U1 test on real numbers

Monday, Sept 18, 2017
Corrected our study guides and then reviewed more for our test by playing the Kahoot games Yanni, Katie, and Grace made over the weekend. Test on U1 Real Numbers tomorrow.

Thursday, Sept 14-Friday, Sept 15, 2017
Study Guide completion, test on Tues

Wednesday, Sept 13, 2017
No class due to Student Council speeches

Tuesday, Sept 12, 2017
Students sorted cards about rational and irrational numbers on Desmos to review for the quiz tomorrow. We also worked in small groups on p 62 #7-15 on identifying irrational numbers and then approximating square roots.

Monday, Sept 11, 2017
We finished our check in on p 57-58 on ordering and comparing rational numbers. Then students shared what they learned for HW on irrational numbers. We compared rational and irrational numbers on the board and learned how to approximate square roots to the nearest tenth.
Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 9.47.30 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-11 at 9.47.36 AM.png

Friday, Sept 8, 2017
We practiced ordering rational numbers together on the board and then on p 57-58 #1-24.
Screen Shot 2017-09-08 at 3.01.28 PM.png

Thursday, Sept 7, 2017
We practiced ordering rational numbers on a clothesline and then on a number line today on OneNote. Students also worked on p 54 in their books. We learned we need to convert rational numbers to the same type of number to help us compare more easily.
Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 9.09.08 AM.png

Wednesday, Sept 6, 2017
We corrected our HW on conversions and then began looking at specific types of rational numbers. We learned that rational numbers are any number you can write as a fraction or ratio. Then we saw that there are two types of decimals that can be rational numbers--terminating decimals and then nonterminating repeating decimals. After taking notes we practiced on Kahoot.
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 11.52.16 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 11.52.02 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 11.51.53 AM.png

Tuesday, Sept 5, 2017
After our quiz on exponents and roots, students reviewed how to convert fractions, decimals, and percents on Buzz Math "Converting Fractions, Decmials, Percents 2."

Monday, Sept 4, 2017
NO SCHOOL

Friday, Sept 1, 2017
We corrected our HW and then worked on p 45 during class to prepare for our quiz on Monday. We also worked on a Math Clothesline on square roots.

Thursday, Aug 31, 2017
Cubes and cubed roots today . . . we compared them to square roots and worked on how it could be related to volume. Students worked on p 40 #1-11 and then Buzz Math "Introducing Cubed Roots."
Screen Shot 2017-08-31 at 8.45.13 AM.png

Wednesday, Aug 30, 2017
Today we built on our knowledge of squaring yesterday, learning how to do the "inverse of a square"--a square root. Students worked on p 39 Try These D and #2-9.
Screen Shot 2017-08-30 at 8.33.18 AM.png

Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017
Began our first unit today on real numbers . . . today focused on vocabulary for exponents, squares, and cubes. Students shared what they remembered from last year and then worked on p 37 Try These A and #1 before working on Buzz Math.
Screen Shot 2017-08-29 at 11.03.28 AM.png

Thursday, Aug 24, 2017
Supplies and book distribution! For HW, follow the steps below to activate your Buzz Math account.

1) Go to www.buzzmath.com/activate
2) Enter the code listed above in the "Links" section for your class.
3) Complete the information listed. If you are an old student, make sure you check the correct box.